Kernel flags
# │forum
d
Anyone modify the kernel flags on the Orin NX? I need the following flags set in order to use cilium for my Kubernetes cluster. https://docs.cilium.io/en/stable/operations/system_requirements/#base-requirements
Copy code
CONFIG_NET_CLS_BPF=y
CONFIG_NET_SCH_INGRESS=y
CONFIG_CRYPTO_USER_API_HASH=y
CONFIG_CGROUP_BPF=y

CONFIG_NETFILTER_XT_TARGET_CT=m

CONFIG_NET_SCH_FQ=m
I'm fairly new to this level of tinkering with Linux. I asked chatGPT, and got a pretty straight forward response:
Copy code
cd /usr/src/linux-headers-5.10.104-tegra-ubuntu20.04_aarch64/kernel-5.10/
cp .config .config.bak
make menuconfig
make -j$(nproc)
sudo make install
sudo make modules_install
sudo update-grub
sudo reboot
uname -r
I'm a bit confused on the GRUB part, as it seems the Jetson NX is using EFI. Checking
which update-grub
returned nothing, so I'm leary to continue. Anyone done this already? Could these flags be added during the preliminary flashing process?
c
Changing the kernel build configuration requires rebuilding the kernel. Since I'm seeing references to Ubuntu 20.04 above, here's Ubuntu's guide for doing that:
d
Could these flags be added during the preliminary flashing process?
I'd rather make the change "upstream" so to speak so that everyone with an orin NX can have success with a kubernetes cluster using the benefits of eBPF
w
I think you'd have to log a bug with NVIDIA asking for that
but I think home kubernetes clusters are a bit of a niche use case for these modules... they are marketed for robotics (e.g. drones - they tend to be found in debris in Ukraine for example)
d
Can we not make the changes during the flashing process? Or do I really have to rebuild the kernel? 😅
and TIL about the war debris... that's kinda crazy.
w
I mean somebody has to build the kernel with those flags
They're an input to the kernel building process
j