RK1 Ubuntu 22.04 64Bit ARM
# │forum
a
Hi everyone! 👋 My name is Abe Hoffman, and I'll be developing the install process for Ubuntu 22.04 LTS (Jammy Jellyfish) for the RK1 compute module. I have been into hardware and software since I was eight and now produce a "discovery" operating system for PayPal's entire compute stack. I'm also a Computer Scientist and have several patents related to operating system installation and software compilation. I have long-term hardware experience with five major manufacturers at the enterprise level and love ARM! I am most familiar with the ASPEED family of BMCs. I also contribute to Amazon's Firecracker for aarch64. I am delighted to be working with the TuringPi team and family (you all)! I want to open the floor to the community and hear what you all would like through the process. My goal is to create a dead simple and enjoyable OS install process for the RK1. Please tell me your thoughts!
d
I've been looking into this and was even about to try to approach this, but my lack of knowledge would make it rather slow. May I ask what's your approach/idea for this? Rockchip delivers a kernel in version 5.10 and there's even a GPU and video output support. There's also an effort to mainline RK3588: https://gitlab.collabora.com/hardware-enablement/rockchip-3588/notes-for-rockchip-3588/-/blob/main/mainline-status.md and while this is a better approach long-term, not everything works yet (like mentioned GPU support or cpufreq). So I thought of maybe a choice for now which kernel to use? Also, with anything you have, feel free to ping or DM me so I can put the image on my RK1 and help with testing.
n
@everyone sorry guys for tagging, but I want to make sure we hear everyone who has something to say and make sure it won't take too long. Please feel free to share your needs and wants. Our main goal is to ensure we are delivering great solution for the community
@abrahamrhoffman maybe you can share your vision for the build?
a